Vision Surreal Title graphic
spacer
All about me - my profile link
older entries
Link here to the rest of my site if this was fun for you!
send me an email
My YouTube
My MySpace Profile
get your own diary- It's fun and free...
Checkout other diaries here!
beautiful pink lava erupting in this dreamstate horizon
2007-08-05 11:55 p.m.

I am a huge fan of the website Rotten.com. It is a daily collection of ultimately way weird news stories. They are submitted by visitors, the best of which are posted.

I have submitted several stories over the years. One of my submissions got posted earlier this year. It was a very strange thing I found in the Oakland paper about a naked guy the cops arrested by the BART station- they arrested him for carrying a CONCEALED weapon. Boggles the imagination, doesn't it?

Last night I was reading things at BBC. My eyes fell upon an equally bizarre unimaginable newsy note, "Worm charmers fork out for event". Worm Charming. what a wacky way to spend an afternoon.

I did some research, and found this official site about the World Worm Charming Championships

WWWWWWWhat?

I've spent a lot of time with worms- collecting them, watching them get eaten by birds, picking them up off the street after it rains so they won't get run over, fed them to a star nosed mole I rescued from a newly excavated home's foundation, dissected them in science class, used them as bait, and learned perseverance from one, as well. Worm Charming is totally new to me.

Maybe I'll tune up a pitchfork and twang away, just to see. Thanks to me, because Rotten.com posted the worm link on August 5, more people know about charming earthworm activities.