Vision Surreal Title graphic
spacer
All about me - my profile link
older entries
Link here to the rest of my site if this was fun for you!
send me an email
My YouTube
My MySpace Profile
get your own diary- It's fun and free...
Checkout other diaries here!
beautiful pink lava erupting in this dreamstate horizon
2006-09-29 16:19

Earlier this week I woke up and could hardly get out of bed to go to the bathroom. My back hurt SO MUCH! There wasn't any event to blame for the pain either.

The night before that painful morning when I was walking Scrappy I had a bizarre thing happen: as we got back to our neighborhood after a good 45 minute dog walk, I had to rest on a rock wall- laying down, before I could walk up the hill to the house! My calf muscles were "burning" in a strange way. After a few minutes of that we finished the couple blocks to the front gate. Boy was I happy to flop on the pillow wall with my feet up.

Next morning my back hurt bad. And knees too. I could hardly move. With all the stuff I've been going through coming off 8 months of prednisone therapy in June this year I figured this episode must be part of it. Whimper Whine for real. Ouch again.

I spent 2 days sleeping and not moving much except for one dog walk a day. Bob took Scrap for his evening walk to check his pee-mail. Yesterday I was able to do the two walks for the first time, and this morning I walked up the hill for the first time since my back started to hurt.

A friend came around the other day and said something that crystalized in my mind what was going on this week. He said, "It sounds like you have the Flu. There's a Flu going 'round you know."

No, I didn't know. He has a school age kid. That makes you really aware of these things because kids pass them around at school, and the school sends a little note home warning the parents. I don't have regular contact with school kids.

Hearing that news made me feel better. Even though the pain was subsiding, I was worried it was some new malady. Suddenly the bad dreams I had this week make sense too. With my compromised immune system I am getting over the Flu. WHEW! I can handle that.