Vision Surreal Title graphic
spacer
All about me - my profile link
older entries
Link here to the rest of my site if this was fun for you!
send me an email
My YouTube
My MySpace Profile
get your own diary- It's fun and free...
Checkout other diaries here!
beautiful pink lava erupting in this dreamstate horizon
2004-09-23 11:53 p.m.

Florida pets need our help!

No doubt you're aware of the situation in Florida- three major hurricanes in five weeks, and now a 4th is looming on the horizon. The devastation is tremendous. Disaster agencies of every sort are providing help for victims.

The emergency shelters are set up for folks who can not or choose not to evacuate during the storm. They save many lives. Afterwards they continue to serve as home for those who find their home is gone. Human family members stay together and safe during scary times. Unfortunately they do not welcome pets.

NO PETS!

WHAT ABOUT THOSE PETS!!!
They are taken to the local animal aspca and dropped off. Given up because there is no place else to go.
Or they are left to weather the storm in the very house the people are evacuating.
Some are left to wander, others wander because their home fell apart.

I am writing to you because I know your pets are part of your family, and the thought of not protecting them from the danger of severe weather is unthinkable. The big hotels, such as the Hilton etc. bent their usual policy to allow refugee pets to stay with their families. The red cross does not.

The Humane society is overwhelmed. Here is a link that describes the situation. (You might have to sign in- it's free)


I thought about having to make those difficult choices the evacuating storm victims and humane society workers face. Looking over at scrappy and the cats , I started to cry.

Those displaced pets need our support now. They need food and shelter for more time- permitting their people to arrange a new place to live. Others need to be airlifted out to humane societies across the US for adoption before they get euthanized due to the overcrowded facilities- especially the cats.
And here comes another hurricane!
I made a contribution today.

The Humane Society of the United States: Disaster Relief Fund

I don't know what else I can say. I wish I could snuggle all of the pets, they must be confused and afraid.

Love, Leslie