Vision Surreal Title graphic
spacer
All about me - my profile link
older entries
Link here to the rest of my site if this was fun for you!
send me an email
My YouTube
My MySpace Profile
get your own diary- It's fun and free...
Checkout other diaries here!
beautiful pink lava erupting in this dreamstate horizon
2004-09-18 8:30 p.m.

I was surfing (google, "rats moving walls") and found this site save the roof rats-It is september and the rats are hunkering down for the winter in the walls. I only hear them fall/winter, the balance of the year they live in the trees and scramble over power-lines, etc. Once one was brought in and accidentally released by one of the cats- and survived, which is the only time an "arboreal rat" (aka "night squirrel" to us) ever appeared on "our side" of the wall.

Disease issues aside, these things have done little harm-there is so much food around the rats flourish without raiding our stuff. We have a huge california bay tree, plums, an orange tree, and the compost heap out back too. The population appears stable. The cats do their predatory thing.

This year I thought I'd like to do something to discourage the tree rats from invading the walls. The attic is less disruptive for we the people; in the wall they are noisy- and I hear squeaking, fights, tails slapping, you know what I mean.

I do not like to kill things. Every rat site says something about killing things. I thought this site was going to be different. About 2 paragraphs into reading I realized it was a joke, and am really disappointed.

I want to repel the rats. I want to find a way to make it obvious to the rat family: moving into my office wall is as unfortunate a mistake as having a Florida vacation this hurricane season. I want them to evacuate.

If you have any insight as to methods to achieve this goal please let me know. I do care for those fuzzy little rat babies.

Sincerely,

Leslie Michel

San Rafael, CA