Vision Surreal Title graphic
spacer
All about me - my profile link
older entries
Link here to the rest of my site if this was fun for you!
send me an email
My YouTube
My MySpace Profile
get your own diary- It's fun and free...
Checkout other diaries here!
beautiful pink lava erupting in this dreamstate horizon
2006-10-05 2:29 a.m.

Friday afternoon I was kicked back on the Pillow Wall, laptop on my lap. I have been working on a new icon set composed from various images of these wacky looking sideshow performers from the turn of the century and the 30's. Limbless, deformed, conjoined twins, vaudeville stars, and other spectacular people are turning out as excellent subjects for my icons. If you want to download them, here's the link to my Digital FREEstore, there are Mac OSX and Window's XP flavored icons available!

They are labor intensive however. Isolating the image of the person from the old black and white images on the pitch cards sold during their performances is tricky. I am a perfectionist doing the graphics needed to make an icon. That takes time. I've been doing a couple a day.

Seeing how I have the Flu bad this week things have been tough. As I worked on an icon of an armless woman smoking a cigarette with her feet I began to have a visual migraine.

Visual migraines are totally painless and like looking through cut crystal that becomes liquid. It starts at the sides and grows toward the middle of your vision. They are very beautiful, with lots of refracted color and flowing movement. Every time I have one I stare at it in wonder. I leaned back on the pillows to give my full attention to this current visual migraine.

I look up; Hanging from the ceiling is a lamp I made a couple years ago. It has 6 of those special bulbs in it that flicker like a flame. For some reason ever since I moved the lamp into the living room to hang over the coffee table the bulbs barely flicker. What a bummer! At most one out of six will do its little flame dance.

This time it was different. All six bulbs were flaming wildly! The visual migraine combined with this miraculous lamp flickering was awesome. Totally psychedelic!
It kept on looking cool, so I reached for my camera and made around 4 minutes of movies. Of course ya'll can't see the visual migraine part. I just had to document this event for myself.

Here's the movie

How great! It must have been some sort of a power surge, because in about 10 minutes it ended- even the visual migraine!
What was that all about? Hmmmmmmmm.