Vision Surreal Title graphic
spacer
All about me - my profile link
older entries
Link here to the rest of my site if this was fun for you!
send me an email
My YouTube
My MySpace Profile
get your own diary- It's fun and free...
Checkout other diaries here!
beautiful pink lava erupting in this dreamstate horizon
2006-08-16 00:32

I was feeling sorry for myself today. So rather than sit around sulking I did a bit of internet research and found this Steroid Message Board It focused on the very thing I am feeling sorry for myself about! Hey, I am not alone! I did more than read the entries; I submitted one and here it is:

On October 30th of last year I went to the emergency room with a weird headache. It was the third day I had it.

To make a long story short, I ended up in ICU for a week, nearly died the first night (woke up to the crash cart with 5 people staring at me in the wee hours), and a diagnosis of CNS vasculitis. And guess what saved my life? Huge doses of prednisone! My cool nurse was shocked at the quantity they were dripping into my veins. It worked- the inflamed cerebral arteries shrunk back into shape.

I left the hospital with 7 prescriptions. One of them was 80 mg of prednisone once a day.

Zillions of Dr. appointments and gallons of blood work later, 8 weeks ago I got to quit the prednisone after months of weaning off the stuff. I was so happy to finally leave it behind!

More than anything I wanted to lose the weight the prednisone caused. I have a closet full of size 3 and 5 jeans I can't wear. I wanted to be able to sleep without needing Lunesta. Blah Blah Blah! So many complaints I could make on that angle.

What I did not expect happening when I finally got off the pred is why I am writing now. In the 8 weeks off that stuff I have become disabled.

My knees hurt so bad I have to crawl up a chair to stand. I wish I had a trapeze over where ever I'm sitting to pull myself up to standing. I hang on to the towel racks to sit down on the toilet because of the pain.

I've been weepy and depressed- more than ever! I walk my dog twice a day, and however long I walk him I end up sleeping about 4 times that time when we get home. I've never been so exhausted so quickly.

My DR. told me being off prednisone for the time I'd been off when I saw him last was nothing. I have a long way to go. He told me to keep a journal of whatever my moods were doing, what I ate, my blood pressure, pulse, and physical exercise I got per day, etc. I have an appointment with him in 10 days or so.

After being on pred for 8 months I find my body has changed. My metabolism seems sluggish, I still bruise easily, and now things HURT a lot in places where it NEVER hurt before. UGH!

I've done much research about this troublesome trip. I am hoping to find some practical suggestions and realistic expectations for recovery from my "Cure". When will this end? What can I do to speed it up?

Prednisone saved my life. However, the quality of life it left me with (at this point) is not one I care to live.

Thanks for listening ya'll. Regards,