Vision Surreal Title graphic
spacer
All about me - my profile link
older entries
Link here to the rest of my site if this was fun for you!
send me an email
My YouTube
My MySpace Profile
get your own diary- It's fun and free...
Checkout other diaries here!
beautiful pink lava erupting in this dreamstate horizon
2006-10-23 06:15

There's a lot going through my head right now. It's taken me a couple weeks to sort it out. The fact I feel like writing about it is great progress. Before this weekend I didn't have words for the feelings.

Hmmmm. where to start...

The other night I was reading the "Today in Rotten History" post at Rotten.com. There was a blurb about the 1991 Oakland Firestorm. The day the firestorm started, October 20th, I was away from home. It was the week of my cousin's wedding.

Across the San Francisco Bay from my house was an inferno. I watched the firestorm on a hotel TV from Manhattan, NY! Touching base talking to a couple Marin friends gave me real non-mass media understanding: Everywhere it was really, really smokey, and the huge fire tongues were visible across bay from our Marin County hill- neighborhood view. It felt SO SURREAL just arriving in NY, NY, with the Bay Area conflagration on (which I never ever never watch but is on in the Hotel Room) TV.

I brought my then epic significant living together (bipolar, fresh from a week in the crisis center, too) boyfriend. He obsessed with fire, who's house was fried, and took his meds half the time we were there.

I realized another feeling coaster ride I was on too. Before our leaving home for the trip east and I kept thinking something was wonky with my monthly cycle, hummmm thought more.

We just had the Loma Preita Quake 2 years before

There is another angle to be revealed but I'm melting now. Nighty Night