Vision Surreal Title graphic
spacer
All about me - my profile link
older entries
Link here to the rest of my site if this was fun for you!
send me an email
My YouTube
My MySpace Profile
get your own diary- It's fun and free...
Checkout other diaries here!
beautiful pink lava erupting in this dreamstate horizon
2006-08-19 19:36

I was looking at my stats, not the DiaryLand stats, but my StatCounter stats this morning. There were several unusual entries. Someone did a search for "primordial ooze" and came up with my animation in the search results.

Then there were hits for that animation pages originating from a site I'd never posted on. It was a "flaming" site. Curious, I went to the site to check out what was going on there. What I found is a member "flaming" another member in a "Flaming" contest!

The text of the "flame" was referring to the other as scummy ooze, or something like that. In one of the posts the contestant included a link to this primordial ooze animation page of mine.

Pond Scum

I wanted to write the person a note to say hello. To do that I had to join the forum. So I did.

I told the person how cool it was they searched and found my animation, and used it in their flame. I also offered to make a custom animation for a future flame should the need arise. I told a story about how I made an animation for my hubby- it was a "flame" of his boss. It depicted the boss turning into Homer Simpson.

The person wrote me back right away! Below is the email I wrote in response to the one I received...

DragonLadee,

I am glad you didn't mind my borrowing your primordial pool... I thought it was adorable, but it did a great job in making a point on my flame as well.... I hope by my linking to your site in that way, it will also draw others to check out the rest as it did myself... you have a lot of good stuff there and may in fact ask assistance of you in the future... but we'll keep that "our little secret", ok... LOL

You got it! I was going to mention the "Our little secret" thing as well, when I offered to make you a custom animation, but I wasn't sure if the "Forces that Be" would read it and cause some sort of trouble for you.

Thanks for voting for me in the competition... it was actually my first... I'm new to the board as well, but I've known many of the posters for years... just lost touch for a while... Again, thank you so much and I know I should have asked first before linking, but at least I didn't steal it... I really hate when people do that... not cool at all... Take care, and hope to hear from you again...!!!!

I am flattered you found my primordial ooze worthy for posting on that site! I love it that more people see my art! In my life as an artist I've had many images, concepts, and the like "stolen" (the first incident I remember being a sophomore in High School). Strangely enough, it is an act of love. Whoever it is just Had to Have It.

I feel sorry for the culprits. How depressing not being able to create. My head is an endless source of ideas for art- way too many for them all to happen! I have to be selective which ideas from the myriad get manifested, otherwise my dog wouldn't get walked, my house wouldn't get cleaned, etc.

And yes, thanks to you, that primordial ooze/pond scum page got 6 hits (as of the last time I looked at my stats this morning) originating from your post! YAY! I love that.

Here is a link to the animation I made for the hubby that contributed to him getting "laid off" from his old job...

Boss-Homer

Write any time DragonLadee!

Regards, Leslie a.k.a Torchstar