Vision Surreal Title graphic
spacer
All about me - my profile link
older entries
Link here to the rest of my site if this was fun for you!
send me an email
My YouTube
My MySpace Profile
get your own diary- It's fun and free...
Checkout other diaries here!
beautiful pink lava erupting in this dreamstate horizon
2007-01-20 05:10

The digitization frenzy continues. Today it's been Joy Division, New Order, and Johnny Cash, yesterday: Public Enemy, Ice Cube, Louis Prima (But where is my NWA? Hmmmm.)

One thing I've come to give consideration is if I can get it without taking time to digitize it myself. This process is a real-time playing the tunes plus edit time. The best way to digitalize vinyl and tape is to play it straight through, then separate the tracks, name them, and designate the track's order on the original for the digital tracks. This takes extra energy.

The things I choose to add to iTunes this way are more likely things I can not buy CD's for. I like having the "hard copy"- buying the cut online doesn't attract me. Too many rules! And I will not get the tracks from a file sharing scene. I want my favorite artists and the companies that enable their music to be distributed to get paid for their work. File sharing is a rip off for the musicians.

Today I was in a Joy Division/New Order mood. I have the 12" 45 rpm singles and 3 full length 33 rpm LP's. When it came to "Unknown Pleasures" I was mesmerized. I need a copy of "Blue Monday" though. I must have one SOMEWHERE...

I'm doing Johnny Cash live at Folsom Prison now. It's a tape I made from vinyl a good friend way back loaned to me. June Carter's on it too. Those records were in such good condition! I made great tapes from them back then, when my Onkyo professional tape deck was still alive. Now I've absorbed the hubby's Nak. I haven't made any tapes in years though.

My LP's are in great shape. Heck, I still have my first records given to me by my parents with my first record player! They still sound good to digitize- I was always gentle with my records. There's something profound about listening to records you had as a kid on iTunes in 2007. This music thing the last week is a trip down audio memory lane. Sound surrounds you...