Vision Surreal Title graphic
spacer
All about me - my profile link
older entries
Link here to the rest of my site if this was fun for you!
send me an email
My YouTube
My MySpace Profile
get your own diary- It's fun and free...
Checkout other diaries here!
beautiful pink lava erupting in this dreamstate horizon
2007-06-20 05:24

I fell asleep crying the other night. It has been so long since I've done that. I don't recall the last time I did; just as well- why would I want to really remember THAT!?

Back in February a friend of mine and her son went on vacation- their first time going "not camping" for vacation. They got on a plane and visited Florida. What an adventure they had!

While gone their 12" G4 Powerbook, a recent gift from an uncle, stayed with me. The boy needed a computer able to run iTunes. Mom's comp and iTunes didn't get along, so the xmas iPod couldn't visit the iTunes store. The powerbook had all the uncle's old files on it- emails- everything.

Mom wanted the computer wiped out and set up fresh for them, but did not have the software disks for it. I needed its O.S.X restore disks- Uncle didn't know where they were, but was willing to buy the software for upgrading the thing from 10.3 to 10.4.

A weekend came and went with no disks for the task. Expressing desire for finishing fluffing up the Powerbook before the travelers came back, Dad said his brother was busy. I said, "I'll get the software. You can get the cash from your brother next weekend."

I sent the generous uncle this note with a scanned copy of the computer store's receipt: "Here is a receipt- I bought a copy of 10.4 so I had a disk able to wipe out everything and start fresh. I'm setting up one admin account (for system maintenance and stuff), and two non-admin user accounts (the kind that can not change system stuff)- one for each. I also installed a command line script called "Applejack" for troubleshooting should the need arise. I bought a good inexpensive book to help them learn the ins and outs of 10.4, and help set up their internet stuff and email account in Mail, etc. Give your brother (the Dad) a check or cash to drop off for me... Have a great day!"

That was 5 months ago. After asking about the lack of cash response to 3 paypal invoices and the above note during a visit with our friend, the Dad, I broke down. It felt as if a floodgate opened wide! I said something like, "In case you have forgotten, I upgraded the software for the Powerbook 5 months ago. My time- a labor of love... but the cash has been out of my pocket since February. We have computer things of our own we need that money to be able to do. This isn't fair, I would never disrespect you like that." Later on that night I whimpered myself to sleep.

Good thing was two days after that weepy night, having let go of the travisty, I got this note (slightly edited) in my inbox: Leslie, thanks for helping. I will give the money to my brother for you the next time I see him.. Say hello to your hubby for me.

Progress for sure. But action is best. I'll be happy to see the cash. And the lesson? My labor of love will only happen when the parts are paid for first.