Vision Surreal Title graphic
spacer
All about me - my profile link
older entries
Link here to the rest of my site if this was fun for you!
send me an email
My YouTube
My MySpace Profile
get your own diary- It's fun and free...
Checkout other diaries here!
beautiful pink lava erupting in this dreamstate horizon
2007-02-06 9:00 p.m.

I got this email from a gal who surfed into my Pink Party Pix page, and I got a big happy kick out of it. I wrote her back of course!

Subject: Pink Party Date: February 5, 2007 7:07:46 PM PST
I saw your Pink Party pictures. How long did you live in Athens? I now live in Baltimore, Maryland, but I lived at 169 Barber Street for a bit. I had a few fun parties. I think I saw some B52 people and REM people in there. I know Mike Mills, I used to work at the 40 Watt and the Grill, and he was at the 40 Watt all the time. I was Barrie Buck's assistant and I was a door girl. (I'm only 22.) Someone told me there was a book written about 169 Barber Street. You wouldn't happen to know of the name of it would you?
- E

My Reply...
Subject: Re: Pink Party Date: February 5, 2007 7:55:08 PM PST
Hello E!
I'm so glad you saw the Pink Party pix. How did you come by the page?
I lived in Athens from 1975 to 1981 (b4 you were born!)
Yeah, there are B-52 and REM (among many other band people) in those pix. REM used to rehearse at 169 for a while. When their first single was done we had boxes of 45rpm records around the house. I still have my copy, too. I hear it is worth 500$ if I wanted to sell it. NO WAY!
If you ever have read "Party out of bounds" or "it crawled from the south", I hear there are nearly whole chapters about the history making parties I threw back in the day.
I was one of the people who put together the AthenRewind party in July 2005. As the only committee member not living in GA, I built the website. It is at http://AthensRewind.com.
I live with a totally happening musician, we have live music at our house at least once, often twice a week- things haven't changed much in that respect!
I haven't heard about a book about 169... But HEY! what a great idea. Do tell if you turn it up!
FYI- I'm listening to "Black Market Clash" right now...
The Athens Banner Herald is going to interview me for their big REM thingy they are publishing for when REM is added to the Rock n Roll Hall of Fame later this year. I'm always game to share the fun times that went on in Athens. Ask me anything- I'll answer...
Right now I'm looking through my big box of photos for pix of the band I was in out here in CA. I just started a MySpace group for people who used to be in the White Trash Debutantes. I want to scan & post more fun band pix. Here's the group: White Trash Debutante Alumni Association
My personal website is LJMichel.com if you are curious.
BTW- I love Prince, too. I got goose bumps watching him perform at halftime yesterday during the Superbowl. I love it when he plays guitar!
InfiniteBliss
write anytime!
Leslie