Vision Surreal Title graphic
spacer
All about me - my profile link
older entries
Link here to the rest of my site if this was fun for you!
send me an email
My YouTube
My MySpace Profile
get your own diary- It's fun and free...
Checkout other diaries here!
beautiful pink lava erupting in this dreamstate horizon
2008-04-26 4:54 p.m.

It's the season of the itch! Here on the west coast there dwells a particularly gnarly 100% native plant:
POISON OAK
I have such respect it. A couple years ago I bought the domain PoisonOak-ID.com; I photographed the plant in all sorts of habitats, then made an awesome web site to teach people to recognize Poison Oak in the wild. It works whether you speak English or not because it's interactive, without getting itchy...

PoisonOak-ID.com

The other day I got a very cool email from a visitor to my PoisonOak-ID site. Reading this made my day!

"Thanks for the GREAT Poison Oak page. I am using it for the Brownies' first camping trip training. That mouse-over color feature is perfect. (They have to do a coloring assignment on the one where it is all mixes with clover and ivy and such.) BTW- do you have to feed your hydrangeas to get blues instead of pinks?"

I immediately wrote her back:
"WOW! thanks soooo much for sharing that with me. I'll be thinking of those girls NOT getting poison oak as a result of my passion/compassion for that remarkable powerful native plant..."

It wasn't until I reread the email she sent that I saw the garden question about my hydrangeas. Apparently she also surfed the garden section of my personal website. I have a slideshow featuring photos of my gorgeous hydrangeas HERE

I'll write her another note about the fact that NO, I do NOT feed them anything to make them turn blue!