Vision Surreal Title graphic
spacer
All about me - my profile link
older entries
Link here to the rest of my site if this was fun for you!
send me an email
My YouTube
My MySpace Profile
get your own diary- It's fun and free...
Checkout other diaries here!
beautiful pink lava erupting in this dreamstate horizon
2006-08-16 02:11

I am listening to Jimmy Hendrix's "Manic Depression" right now. Yay... WOW!

Funny coincidence, because I am posting this letter I wrote with the paypal donation I made to this incredible website, CrazyMeds.org. It is all about the Good, the Bad, and the Funny of Neurological Medications- your one-stop information portal for the mentally interesting.

Besides Prednisone, which I whined about in my previous post, I also weaned myself off an antidepressant. The Western Medical Wizards at the hospital put me on this stuff because they thought I was depressed. I told them that I was OK with however things turned out- whether I lived or died- because I had no "unfinished business". I believe whatever happens is meant to be; if I died it would be the beginning of the next great adventure. I have no regrets. I have no unachieved desires. I believe in DIVINE ORDER. There are no mistakes- just action and consequence, no "right and wrong".

Well, the Western Medical Wizards felt my spiritual view of things as they were going up in ICU needed chemical correction. Coming off that "potion" was soooo trippy. The hallucinations I had were not the pretty trails and pulsing paisleys I thought of as hallucinations.

They were more like falling asleep sitting up, eyes open, and having interactions with other people- then suddenly coming back to where you're actually sitting, but the other people are not there. After the first hallucination I was "lucid" for the other 4 or 5.

In the last one I had there were 2 girls I had never met in real life sitting in my living room. We were getting ready to go out, and I had the feeling they wanted to get stoned. I don't usually smoke with people I don't know, but I really liked these gals.

So I said to them, "wait, I have to see if you are real".

When I pulled my conscious up and out of the hallucination they were gone! Whew! That answered that question. This CrazyMeds website prepared me for that strangeness more than my neurologist did. I really appreciated that. Here's the letter I wrote with the donation...

Dear Jerod and Company,

I just want to thank you for being there when I needed some straight info about the SSRI thing. I was very sick (near death) in the hospital last November. When I was released from my week in intensive care one of the many scripts given to me along with the prednisone (that actually saved my life) was Lexapro.

As I started to come out of the fog at home and researched the pills I was taking. The Lexapro did not fit in. I am not depressive. I was diagnosed with CNS vasculitis- inflamed arteries in my brain.

Well, let me tell you, withdrawing from prednisone is a trip. Weaning off Lexapro at the same time was, and still is, an even more hectic ride. Of course the Dr.s took lots of bloodwork during the whole process, but not one of them told me about the SSRI discontinuation syndrome.

Today is day 14 off those 2 meds. YAY! If it wasn't for the info I gleaned from your site I would have been unable to cope. Knowing what to expect I was able to forewarn my hubby and mother and friends. They thank you too!

Oh! I am a visionary surrealist, and a web designer as part of that reality. I put a link to your site on my links page. I am so grateful for your writing style and truth telling! Thanks much. Ya'll will dig my personal site. Among my many artistic endeavors I do lots of wacky animation. The third button from the left is the links page if ya want to check the link to CrazyMeds out. Your site is so well written and helpful I want to make this paypal donation to you. Soon I'll get my Dr. bills paid, too. ARG! those bills are nasty even with insurance.

I read aloud, to two of my friends who are involved with the same bipolar person, your 12 Steps For Staying On Drugs. I was involved with a different bipolar man years ago. I found such understanding of the dilemmas he felt- and so did the friends who I read for. Thank You, Jerod, for your honest view from that perspective- and the excellent advice you share (Mileage may vary).

I found your site because of being put on Lexapro when I was in ICU for a week in November. Not being depressive I wanted off. Your information and the advice of my neurologist did the trick! The hallucinations I had were no surprise. And they are long gone now.

I put a link to CrazyMeds.org on my site's links page a couple weeks ago...

Http://LJMichel.com

Have a great day!