Vision Surreal Title graphic
spacer
All about me - my profile link
older entries
Link here to the rest of my site if this was fun for you!
send me an email
My YouTube
My MySpace Profile
get your own diary- It's fun and free...
Checkout other diaries here!
beautiful pink lava erupting in this dreamstate horizon
2008-06-29 7:26 p.m.
96/64 80bpm

My regular schedule for dog walks has been askew for a number of reasons- my health, summertime weather, and air quality being the Top Three. Yesterday afternoon shade and cool air sans smoke provided an chance to go up the hill in daylight. Scrappy and I seized the opportunity!

Through the redwoods we went to the top of the hill. Where the road ends a dirt trail leads through woods to the last house at the very end of another twisty road. Often we are greeted by a pair of white dogs. Along with the dogs Chuck, Ken or both would shortly follow. Many varied topics were discussed as our dogs scurried about peeing on everything and anything with great shows of bravado and one upmanship!

Things have been pretty quiet up there lately. Other than the tree trimmers or handyman I hadn't seen the dogs or the people in ages. A new item in the garden caught my eye- a stone plaque, with some engraving; Chuck had died. I had no idea!

No wonder things had changed! For the rest of the walk I could think of nothing else- Chuck and Ken were together 44 years, partners in business and life. They'd throw killer neighborhood parties, decorated for holidays with such gusto in spite of the fact no one could drive by and see it all.

Oh! and Chuck's green thumb, love of tulips... I've photographed those tulips many a Spring. There are plants in that garden I have provided- and plants from their garden inhabit mine.

I got on the computer as soon as Scrap got his after walk cookies. I found the obituary. I read the entries in the online guest book. Chuck had died in January.

I added the following entry:
"Today Scrappy and I walked through the path past your house, and an addition to the garden caught my eye. I was curious why I hadn't heard or seen Chuck with the dogs. Now I know why.
Ken- I want to give you a big warm hug next time I see you. I am heartsick for your loss.
Infinite Love, Leslie and Bob"

Lo and behold, today while I was taking a shower the phone rang. Bob answered. It was Ken! He filled Bob in on some of the details, and said the next time we are walking by with Scrappy to knock on the door and come in to spend some time and have a glass of wine.

I am sending all the psychic love vibes I can muster to Ken now. And Bob, Scrappy, and I will be knocking on that door sooner than later. I already feel the heart to heart hug I'll share with Ken. Intense. Infinite. Loving.