Vision Surreal Title graphic
spacer
All about me - my profile link
older entries
Link here to the rest of my site if this was fun for you!
send me an email
My YouTube
My MySpace Profile
get your own diary- It's fun and free...
Checkout other diaries here!
beautiful pink lava erupting in this dreamstate horizon
2007-09-06 06:22
BP 105/72 70 bpm

Hot. Hot. Hot. It has been too hot the last couple weeks. Allow me to whimper, please! My body can't tolerate this weather scene. I have my ways to make daytime tolerable, but this year I have lost the battle.

I remember spending Labor Day weekend ('87? '88?) in LA with my friends Vito, Peggy, and George. Temperatures broke records in a big way that year. Aside from spending the entire time in a pool getting wrinkly- even eating meals from place settings on the edge, there was another memory.

We went to a (air conditioned) Burbank video store in quest of movies. The short walk from our car to the store was too long for me. I passed out (sick hot, not cold) in the strip mall's parking lot. My friends had to help me to the shade. The video clerk bolted out with a paper cup of cold water.

That sick hot faint feeling has been with me too much lately. Last Friday I walked Scrap at 7PM and came very very close to fainting. I had to lay down in a shady grassy spot a while so I could finish walking the last 3 blocks home. The rest of the night I was sick. Argh.

I HATE SUMMER. Good thing this extreme heat is atypical. Fog, beautiful fog, is MY friend. I DO have appreciation for this miserable season though; Many beautiful plants need heat and sunlight. I love seeing them thrive! My deep purple dendrobium orchid, big pink Queen Anne's Tears bromilead, heavily dream-scented tropical datura, and several neon-bright cacti are blooming because it's summertime, their favorite time.

Bob bought a big inflatable pool last week. It took him two days leveling the soil to prepare the spot for setting it up. Yesterday he blew the pool up & filled it with water. Tonight was the maiden voyage.

Smiling happy Bob, with drink in hand, was standing in the water. He reached with the other wet hand to switch on a clip light he had used to dig at night. The lamp swinging overhead was plugged into an ungrounded orange extension cord...

"Uh oh," I thought. Calmly, I said something like, "Honeypie! You're ready to zap yourself! Sweetie, it's never a good idea to touch electricity and at the same time stand in water!" He heard me and stopped, thank goodness.

Walking Scrappy earlier tonight I figured Bob shouldn't fry in the name of having fun. Tomorrow when he's at work I'll fix this dangerous thing. I'll wire up a light fixture and outdoor GFI outlet. It'll be handy to safely plug in stuff like the pool filter. Then I'll give the cool pool a try. Maybe I won't feel as fried!