Vision Surreal Title graphic
spacer
All about me - my profile link
older entries
Link here to the rest of my site if this was fun for you!
send me an email
My YouTube
My MySpace Profile
get your own diary- It's fun and free...
Checkout other diaries here!
beautiful pink lava erupting in this dreamstate horizon
2005-12-03 4:44 p.m.

I just had a great conversation with my mom. She has helped me verbalize my thoughts and feelings.

My most important realization has been the realization that my walking is getting more difficult. Iam a stellar walker. I did not know how to drive until my dad taught me at the age of 25. He said the days will come where ther is no other safe way proci9de other than drive myself because everyone else will be to fucked up.

During that winter we cruised this ancient cemetery that was covered with ice and snow (we were in Erie PA next to Great Lake Erie and it's winters of historic pasts) and we went tothe K-MART parking lot on a sunday when they were closed so we could practice spinning donuts on snow covered ice. We practiced how to spin out of those awkward losses of direction without damaging any other things around.

I am great winter driver including when there is need NOT to that the chance and drive home. People in California are the scariest winter drivers because they got those huge SUV thingys that they think makes up for learning how to skid on the KMART parking lot from your dad.

Most of the time they think the SUV means they can drive as fast as they want even over the limit. Then when they skid on black ice or even regular ice covered with some pretty fresh white snow they do the wrong thing. They take their foot off the gas all the way, and turn their steering wheel the wrong way. Ya turn into the spin, not the direction of the spin. Like how when you are on a motorcycle on a curve you don't lean upright- but outward in the same plane as the motorcycle. If you take your foot off the gas you lose the ability to choose the direction to encourage the vehicle to go.

That winter me and my dad had 5 accidents between the 2 of us because of extreme wind and totally hidden ice under the road. It was a bad winter. Learning to deal with what to do driving and skidding through KMART Parkinglot donuts was an ultimate father-daughter bonding. I still am a great driver in winter weather. I just think that driving from the Bay area with those SUV owning unpracticed winter drivers is a scary thing. I avoid them on the summit. I see many of them off on the side of the road afther the pass me at the "speed limit". I have a suburu justy hatchback.

If you travel in cold slippery areas, Keep these things in your car.
1. coffee can 1/2 filled with sand.
2. 3 or 5 taper candles to burn to keep your unheated car above freezing.
3. Decent sized bag of trail mix so your stomach doesn't growl
4. Flash light, a radio, cell phone and batteries.

Burn the candle in the coffee can of sand. One candle at a time will keep your vehicle interior above freezing.

Do not wander around at night if your car is is stuck- especially if there is water involved. Stay put until daylight! If you have a cell phone make calls but do not leave the vehicle. Do not attempt to run the car engine to stay warm all night. use the blankets and the burning candles. You will need the gas and stuff to get out the next morning.
5. A good warm blanket for your legs will bring most comfort- just don't try to run the car to keep warm, be calm and have lots of snuggles- but don't wander outside looking for help.