Vision Surreal Title graphic
spacer
All about me - my profile link
older entries
Link here to the rest of my site if this was fun for you!
send me an email
My YouTube
My MySpace Profile
get your own diary- It's fun and free...
Checkout other diaries here!
beautiful pink lava erupting in this dreamstate horizon
2005-05-11 5:11 p.m.

First check this website out

savetoby.com

I wrote this letter today to the contact page of the site.

Hi there,
I must say I'm fascinated by the Save Toby site. I'm puzzled thinking over your purpose, goals, etc. I've got to admit it is clever approach.

People (including myself) tend to be quite sensitive about the suffering of innocent animals, get more outraged at their mistreatment, and are more likely to donate money and time for their protection. On the other hand, our own species is treated as "expendable". Just look at the loss of life and the billions of dollars spent supporting the military activity in Iraq for evidence! All kill, no compassion.

There are rabbit farms who's primary purpose is production of rabbit meat, fur, and the considerable profit from raising earthworms in the rabbit droppings. Rabbit droppings themselves are one of the richest organic fertilizers available aside from bat guano. These farms exist for profit- they don't attract attention or hate mail. Therefore, it is the "cute pet" thing that's the trigger- not the rabbit's life. Hmmmm.

The knee jerk reaction to "save Toby" by sending you money is successful. The site has obviously paid off whether the entire $50,000 accumulates or not. In reality, choosing to eat Toby is sensible, although I personally could not do it. For centuries our species has practiced animal husbandry as part of agriculture- to feed ourselves. Vegans eat living things too. Lettuce is killed when you chew it. Any "fresh" raw vege is. No one is wrong.

In some Latin American cultures a lamb is raised by hand as a cherished family pet; then it is dramatically killed at Eastertime to reenact Christ's betrayal. In a way, your trip with Toby is similar. The difference is nobody makes any money putting together a web site to save those lambs, or protect the traumatized feelings of young family members who befriended the lamb and must witness the slaughter in the name of religion. Abusive, no?

Thanks for sharing Toby. Your site has given me much food for spiritual thought- and without the trauma being witness to the real live ritual slaughter. Rabbits scream you know.

Regards