Vision Surreal Title graphic
spacer
All about me - my profile link
older entries
Link here to the rest of my site if this was fun for you!
send me an email
My YouTube
My MySpace Profile
get your own diary- It's fun and free...
Checkout other diaries here!
beautiful pink lava erupting in this dreamstate horizon
2003-04-29 11:06 a.m.
I'll be easy on myself brilliant
Another evening, another Day-I awoke to the sound of unfamiliar men's voices outside my bedroom window. The dog was ballistic! 'Who is it???" No answer. Again,"Who's there???" "PG&E"...Oh good. The utility Co., No one I need to encounter, seeing how I am undressed and woozy from sleep.

It is still raining on and off, Last night I was caught out in the rain when walking the dog- we came back in and dripped wet on the kitchen floor. As soon as I opened the door I heard Bob say, "Did you get wet?". Wet enough to decide to shower rather than anything else. I thought I would go to bed afterwards- Bob was headed that direction (he must get up MUCH earlier than I) and there is nothing more snuggly than a rainstorm and him- But something pushed me otherwise.

I made a cocktail, kissed him goodnight, and padded off to my studio/office to get stoned and read. I finished the firewire article in EM, and thought to start another-when I simply HAD to find a new image or two- was overwhelmed by the need to photograph Something, new raw material-a fresh image...So out came the camera!

Since landing here a couple nights back, I have been intrigued by the banners placed by the other diaryland writers. Ideas for these ads popped into my head fast and furious. The darkest of the shots I took last night yielded a couple great prototypes-for when I am ready to 'publicise' my diary.

I like tittlating text, soft dreamlike images, and for my own self, I most like the ambiguous 'fill in the blank' space for another's mind to fill. I learn much about my friends when they view my paintings- their images speak the aforementioned qualities. The viewing friend inevitably starts off with,"I see a..." BINGO! Instant intimate view of the inner life of the freind! A sophisticated ink blot test. Rarely do I concurr, but I just keep my mouth shut.The ears work best when the mouth is mute.

Tonight is band rehearsal night. They rehearse twice a week, on Tue. and Fri, in the living room, I am the trusty engineer and spiritual mentor-the fifth member, in a 4 member troup. Sometimes I record- I have the urge to do so these last few weeks, so many cool new licks and lyrics....- am holding out for the arrival of my preordered DIGITAL PERFORMER 4 software from MOTU- the most sluggish developers yet! I ordered it better than a month ago, and still no word. The next band recording will be multitrack, hell or highwater! I am tired of mixing on the fly 8 sources- Every time one bandmate reaches for their volume knob in mid session, (and if you have ever experienced a volume war, you know what I mean!) the balance is thrown off, and I lose my carefully plotted unity gain- ending up with a lopsided take Or worse yet-dreaded evil digital distortion. In the techno word I have heard it used artfully. In the rock n roll world, it is icky. This is rock n roll, baby! Just say NO to digital distortion.

That's that, I'll crunch some images, and go walking until Bob gets home. Supervise my garden helper. Then it is Showtime!