Vision Surreal Title graphic
spacer
All about me - my profile link
older entries
Link here to the rest of my site if this was fun for you!
send me an email
My YouTube
My MySpace Profile
get your own diary- It's fun and free...
Checkout other diaries here!
beautiful pink lava erupting in this dreamstate horizon
2006-08-17 20:33

Yesterday I was shocked and saddened to find my Tin Foil Barb, which I've had for 13 years, dead in his aquarium. I put some pelleted food in the tank earlier, and peaked in a bit to see if he needed more. Needless to say he did not.

Last December I posted on Craig's list-"Tin Foil Barb seeks Larger Home". My fish was sooo big, and I wanted to find him a good home that was bigger than I could provide. I wanted my fish to be with other Tin Foil barbs too. There were a few people very interested, but none of them came through. Here's the photo I took

Tin Foil Barb' Picture

And a Movie

R.I.P. Tin Foil Barb

This is a species of fish that likes to school. At the Steinhart Aquarium in Golden Gate Park there's a massive aquarium filled with these Barbs. I watched them move beautifully in a smooth naturally choreographed fishy swimming dance. I wanted my Barb to live like that.

I also thought when a new home was found, I'd get to put Goldfish in that tank. I love Goldfish, but hadn't had a tank of them in years. There's no room in the right place for another aquarium right now. The Barb's 40 gallon tank lives at the foot of our bed. I like to lay around watching it.

In some ways having my tin foil barb die is ok. He was getting really old; the aquarium needed to be bigger. I fished him out with plans to bury him in the garden. I'll clean up the tank, remove the heater, do a partial water change- all in preparation for the future inhabitants.

"Inhabitants" is plural. More than one. I haven't been able to have "more than one" for a long time. That tin foil barb grew HUGE- I couldn't put any other fish in the tank. I am psyched at the thought of watching a couple fish interact! And my Tin Foil Barb gets to swim free to fishy heaven-

That gives me peace.