Vision Surreal Title graphic
spacer
All about me - my profile link
older entries
Link here to the rest of my site if this was fun for you!
send me an email
My YouTube
My MySpace Profile
get your own diary- It's fun and free...
Checkout other diaries here!
beautiful pink lava erupting in this dreamstate horizon
2007-03-20 19:16

Bob and I walked downtown today with Scrappy, and ended up running across one of his acquaintances in front of a persian restaurant. He was standing outside the place talking to the owner. Scrappy gets bored standing around with the people when we're out walking. As Bob said goodbye the Persian guys said, "Happy New Year".

I hadn't given a thought to today being the first day of spring until Bob explained that this is Persian New Year. I learn something new every day! Getting back home I gave more though to the previous First Day of Spring things- and compelled me to write.

Before I lived in California, I lived in Erie, PA. Right next to Lake Erie, wintertime lasts a long, long, very long time. My friend Kenny was having a party to celebrate the Vernal Equinox. In reality there had been a recent snowstorm that accumulated 16" of fresh fluffy snow.

A few hours and several drinks into the festivities we came up with a great party activity idea! Lets get naked! Even better, Let's get naked and go outside and make naked snow angels!

I'll never forget the feeling of dragging my arms and legs in the snow in "snow angel" fashion. Those of you who know, we made them both on our back and front. Naked. In Kenny's side yard.

It was really fun in an odd surreal way being it was Spring. In Erie PA with "Lake Effect" winter weather things sure didn't appear to be Spring!