Vision Surreal Title graphic
spacer
All about me - my profile link
older entries
Link here to the rest of my site if this was fun for you!
send me an email
My YouTube
My MySpace Profile
get your own diary- It's fun and free...
Checkout other diaries here!
beautiful pink lava erupting in this dreamstate horizon
2007-01-24 03:51

I got this dreamy email from a very old friend today. I really needed the strokes, too. Bob was home from work today- and got his "Center of the Universe" (C.o.t.U.) trip going. His flavor of "Center of the Universe" is "I'm misunderstood & they're ALL out to get me". That head trip transforms who ever is around into the C.o.t.U's "Cause of my Frustration". UGH! I was worn out when I opened this email.

The warm feelings expressed in Joe's note lifted me up! My perspective shifted upward. When Bob came in to rant at me about "whatever of the moment", I read this to him. I think it shifted his perspective for the better as well.

"Dear Leslie:I have been meaning to write you since you got the gears going for the rewind party, which I unfortunately missed as I was in Africa at the time. I just want to thank you for all the energy you and your friends put into the party, the site, and now yet more photos of those great days in Athens. I have never left for long and still keep up with a lot of my old crowd and they all raved about the party. I recently saw Heli and she showed me yet some more pink party photos and told me the rewind gallery is getting huge so I will check that out. I am back in the south this year teaching English at Augusta State University and looking after my dad who is getting up there (83). So, I get up to Athens every couple of weeks to hang out with freinds and renew myself. I spent a lot of year teaching and travelling overseas, have a 17 year old daughter (named Dylan!) and am still playing music and writing songs and get up bands when I am abroad and people are more desparate for rock and roll! I still just love playing and singing and writing and all that. I put one two reunions for Larry Marcus (there is a tree and a plaque at the corner of the quad by Milledge and...Paine Hall? So twice we gathered there and celebrated with his mother who I remain close to and then partied like the old days with a big bunch of folks. One in '93 and another in 98. 20 and 25 years since that awful wreck. I still hang out with Paul Lombard and a few of the old crew, but I am usually only in the US for a year or so at a time.

All of my old photos are deep inside a storage shed outside AThens and I digitized them all years ago onloy to have the computer crash and burn, but one of these days I will do that again and post them. It was wonderful to see those pink party pictures and remember you especially and how much energy and enthusiasm you had for life and how much you loved people. 20 years ago I wrote my first (and still unpublished) novel set in AThens about music and poltiics and stuff and had you as the narrators girlfriend and I called her Lizzy Sol, like the sun. So, you keep on shining that special light you have so we can all keep warm in the glow and remember our old friends and the parties that have faded from our memories, if we even remembered them the next morning...Much love, joe"

Isn't that the neatest! I feel sooo blessed...