Vision Surreal Title graphic
spacer
All about me - my profile link
older entries
Link here to the rest of my site if this was fun for you!
send me an email
My YouTube
My MySpace Profile
get your own diary- It's fun and free...
Checkout other diaries here!
beautiful pink lava erupting in this dreamstate horizon
2007-08-15 12:06 p.m.

The other night I was sifting through my browser's bookmark file. In the Health links I stumbled upon this forum I frequented last summer, Steroid Message Board With a click I was instantly transported on a cyber bucking bronco. This creaky time machine took me back in time. What a wild ride!

Once I "touched down", the very first entry I read was from a gal in the last stages of weaning off prednisone, a VERY uncomfortable chore,
"Author: Tiffany (Clueless)
Subject: Question Please - 1mg........
I hope everyone is doing as well as can be. Once again do have a question if someone can please help me on this one. As some of you know, I have been weaning off VERY SLOW - I am finally down to 1mg, only past 3 days after doing my usual 1-2-2-1-2-2-1mgs. How long do I stay on 1mg and how do I go to nothing? Do I have to do the 1-0-1-1-0 or what? Sorry for this maybe unusual question, but in all honesty just don't know.
I have had some pretty rough weeks with anxiety/depression, but am hanging in there. Past 3 days have been a tad easier which to me it's good but never know from one day to the next. Hoping and wishing you all are also coping well. Lots of love/hugs/prayers!
"

This brought back memories for me: It was so tough to get through a day; Every movement was painful. People's posts at this forum helped me much. Then I remembered I copy and pasted one of my posts there into my diary entry here. Rereading it I saw it was nearly to the very day a year ago. An psychic anniversary! How much has changed since then! I felt compelled to respond to this gal's post. I had experience, strength, and hope to share. So I did and here it is:
"Author: Leslie (Satisfied)
Subject: Here's some hope...
In reply to: Tiffany 's message, "Question Please - 1mg........"
Know that the feelings you're having about life while getting off prednisone are temporary. It is hard to imagine that when in the thick of it though! A year ago I posted here about the same dilemma. Here is a link to the entry I made: Prednisone: Whimper, Whine, Whimper
The Adrenal gland is in charge of making cortisone in your body. When you take steroids as medicine your adrenal gland scales down production- it actually shrinks (atrophy) because of inactivity! It takes weeks and weeks to get in shape again. The time it takes to "pump up" itself FEELS HORRIBLE.
The good news is that adrenal insufficiency resolves itself. Depending on a plethora of factors the time is variable: days, weeks. Me, it took around 8 months! When I think of how crappy I felt a year ago, like I described in that entry above, with how good I feel now- I am SO AMAZED.
Be Patient!"