Vision Surreal Title graphic
spacer
All about me - my profile link
older entries
Link here to the rest of my site if this was fun for you!
send me an email
My YouTube
My MySpace Profile
get your own diary- It's fun and free...
Checkout other diaries here!
beautiful pink lava erupting in this dreamstate horizon
2006-09-04 18:16

I am in ultra geek mode ya'll. I took apart my old 667Mhz Titanium Powerbook. It's screen quit working last year. Actually, it did not quit working 100%, otherwise I wouldn't be taking the time to "fix" it.

The screen would work if someone sort of "twisted" it. Then you could SEE what was going on. I could also log into it via our network. The computer part worked fine. I believe there is some problem with the data getting to the screen to be seen.

I bought a service manual a couple months ago. Yesterday I spent a couple hours taking it all the way apart because that is the only way to get to the screen's cables. I believe it needs a new data cable that links the screen with the motherboard.

But before I spend the bucks for that, I am going to reassemble the computer. Why? FOR TWO REASONS: 1) I want to see if it magically works 100% when it is reassembled, and 2) I want to see if I can reassemble it and have it work at all. HA!

If it doesn't work screen-wise but the computer does- then I'll buy the new cable. If it works 100%, then I don't have to buy anything new. If I can't put it together at all, I will take time to learn what I did wrong and fix it to where it was at before I took it apart.

The machine is in pieces on my glass coffee table. Hindsight being 20/20, I wish I had labeled which little screws go with which part. They are all the same size, but they are different lengths.

And the manual doesn't tell you what order to assemble it, only how to disassemble it. Hmmmm...

So I'll keep ya'll posted. Wish me good geek luck!