Vision Surreal Title graphic
spacer
All about me - my profile link
older entries
Link here to the rest of my site if this was fun for you!
send me an email
My YouTube
My MySpace Profile
get your own diary- It's fun and free...
Checkout other diaries here!
beautiful pink lava erupting in this dreamstate horizon
2007-08-06 1:44 p.m.

Today is a special day; today is First Fig of the Season Day! If I didn't live in the modern age of linear calendar time, I'd still know it is the figgy month of August. Scrappy and I walked past a favorite fig tree this morning. There, glowing yellowish green, standing out above the other dark green figs, was a soft, sweet, long-awaited First Ripe Fig. Mmmmmmmmmmmm...

Scrap has been sniffing around that tree in anticipation of this moment for about 2 weeks. He loves figs as much as I do. During the latter half of summer when our walk route passes that tree Scrap will stop to look at me with great expectation. Sure, it seems odd a dog likes eating figs- but Scrappy adores all sorts of fruit and vegetables.

I reached up picked that "come hither" fig. It filled the palm of my hand. Standing on the street I bit into it. Sticky. sweet, soft, scrumptious! Pulling a piece off about the size of a thumbnail, I offered it to Scrappy. He was already standing upright dancing on his back paws.

Poof! the piece was gone. We shared the rest of the fig , then I looked to see if there was another. A couple looked possible, but when I checked them out they were still too firm. Almost ripe figs don't taste nearly as good as ripe. They'll be ready soon though. Patience is a virtue when it comes to eating figs.

When the figs are in their prime time I pick a couple to munch. Scrap and I then move to a shady spot for our splurge. It must be so much fun for anyone passing by to see Scrap jumping up to eat a fig bit. Once we are done and it's time to move along, I have to show Scrappy the front and back of my hands. He must see I'm not holding any more figs or he won't continue walking.

Oh, when the Season of the Figs ends walking past that fabulous tree is tough for Scrappy. He looks up me with such mournful desire unrequited. Showing him my hands I say, "No more, No figs, ALL GONE" It takes about a month and a half before Scrap "forgets" the fig feasting, and we can walk by without pause.

I wish I could forget them that easily. Even though the Season of the Figs is just beginning, with many future figs to look forward to, I feel there's never enough. Hoarding figs is unfathomable. Am I addicted to figs? Fig Addiction?! Figs Anonymous? No, please, enable me- they taste great. Mmmmmmmm...