Vision Surreal Title graphic
spacer
All about me - my profile link
older entries
Link here to the rest of my site if this was fun for you!
send me an email
My YouTube
My MySpace Profile
get your own diary- It's fun and free...
Checkout other diaries here!
beautiful pink lava erupting in this dreamstate horizon
2007-01-15 7:52 p.m.

Hey ya'll. My ears are having such a fabulous day-

Say What?!

I am listening to an album called "Gospel Chestnuts" (for the first time in years) right now, the cut called "I'm Tired" by the Bright Lights Quartet. This true chestnut of audio has lived on a cassette tape since I originally recorded the actual VINYL Record from a friend.
I LOVE it!
My favorite is the original version of "Progidal Son" by Rev Robert Wilkins. Mick Jagger sung this tune on Beggars Banquet. This gospel Chestnut version is what inspired him. And I can listen to it because I DIGITIZED IT! It's in iTunes now- not a cassette! YAY!
Last night I got the rack of gear up and running. I'm playing the cassettes through a Nakamichi deck into my Motu 896 Firewire audio interface and recording with GarageBand, then importing the cuts into iTunes on the music server iMac.
I've digitized the Ventures, B-52's Cosmic Thing, Tippy A-GoGo"s SOUL-O-Works, a radical tape of "precious messages" I saved from my old answering machine, and several other tapes. I am enjoying listening to things I love after a long time- it's like a reunion or homecoming.

Here's the special work space I made to digitize audio attached to our iMac music server...

Audio Digitizing Technogeek Mini-Paradise

Happy Ears!

Update! Look who's taken over being the audio engineer...

Miss Juliette, the Engineer

Miss Juliette!