Vision Surreal Title graphic
spacer
All about me - my profile link
older entries
Link here to the rest of my site if this was fun for you!
send me an email
My YouTube
My MySpace Profile
get your own diary- It's fun and free...
Checkout other diaries here!
beautiful pink lava erupting in this dreamstate horizon
2007-09-08 05:48

Click on this picture to see the Burning Man Cyber Stream Screenshot Quicktime animation I made tonight:

The screenshots were captured on Saturday night from Burning Man 2007's Streaming Video/Audio internet broadcast. I piped the stream to a digital projector. Black Rock City beamed, grandly emanated from the big screen on and off all weekend. Peeking in on the dusty playa cyber style is my adaptation.

Burning Man started out on Baker Beach by the Golden Gate Bridge. After a few years it outgrew this cool comfy nude beach location of choice. The police started showing up to break the scene up. Inspired by the Cacophony Society's chosen location for an event, The Man moved.

The new spot is polar opposite of the beach: Black Rock Desert. It's in Nevada. It's HOT and DRY. There's no shade. There isn't any water either. At 5000 feet above sea level the sun's rays are relentless. Dust Devils swoop around causing white outs which trash everything and make it hard to see. It's tough to imagine a more inhospitable place to willingly pitch a tent!

I loved going to Burning Man at the beach, but I abandoned ship when it headed to the desert. My spirit goes to the playa even though the flesh and blood stay home. And all is right with the world. When you arrive at Black Rock City, the greeters say, "Welcome Home!"

My Baker Beach photos @ Burning Man Photo Gallery