Vision Surreal Title graphic
spacer
All about me - my profile link
older entries
Link here to the rest of my site if this was fun for you!
send me an email
My YouTube
My MySpace Profile
get your own diary- It's fun and free...
Checkout other diaries here!
beautiful pink lava erupting in this dreamstate horizon
2007-01-03 18:01

A QuickTime movie made a year ago I posted at *LJMichel.com* started with an wacky rap recording of Vito Paulekas. The cheesy not-even-high-bias Memorex cassette tape (without a box) he gave me 16 years ago revealed itself when I was cleaning space behind the CDs in our big big bookcase.

What a blast from the past! A radical 60's sculptor/dancer/groove- guru/infamous Los Angeles denizen, Vito died in 1992 after 78 years of very lively life. Loving the rap, I digitalized the recording, added surreal image madness mirroring Vito's automatic DaDa use of language, and posted the finished product *here*.

December 14th this email arrived in my Inbox: "Hi, I ran into your website looking for info on Vito Paulekas. The reason for my search for info is my interest in Frank Zappa and related things. I also have a sculpture that Vito made in 1961. You can see this sculpture and photo I took of it here:

*United Mutations: Vito Paulekas*

The reason I am contacting you is to ask you where you got the audio of vito's rap. My understanding is that someone other than you added the music and you added the video. Also, i would like to know who added the music. I really like the end result as well. Thanks! John K."

And my response: "Hi John, My name is Leslie Michel. Vito was a very close friend of mine. We did much performance art together. I have so much I could share with you! Of course I can't write it all down now- My kitty has a vet appointment in 20 minutes. I had to write you back right away though! Any thing Vito is important to me."

These last couple weeks have blown my mind! This little email exchange has hatched something BIG! Old (living) friends are back in my life. I've been scanning photos of the myriad late 80's SF South of Market nightclub gigs Vito & I did. Three different websites focused on the Zappa & LA scene Vito ruled in the 60's want to post these pix and actually asked my permission. Imagine THAT!

A poem I wrote when Vito died is in my Diary here: *The Final Bow*

I'll keep you posted as this fascinating thing unfolds- What fabulous FUN!