Vision Surreal Title graphic
spacer
All about me - my profile link
older entries
Link here to the rest of my site if this was fun for you!
send me an email
My YouTube
My MySpace Profile
get your own diary- It's fun and free...
Checkout other diaries here!
beautiful pink lava erupting in this dreamstate horizon
2007-12-17 12:10 p.m.

Scrappy and I just got back from a walk downtown. I had an errand to run, Scrap had to pee, and the rain stopped; I was grateful for the opportunity.

I chose the half street-half park route this morning. As we entered the park I noticed something different. Past the sculpture in the shade of the trees to the left a picnic table existed. Not any more! It was no where to be seen. Curses! Another fatality!

This park has become a "No Park" in my humble opinion. There isn't any place left to sit- no spots to rest, eat lunch, watch people, play chess. No butts allowed. Keep it moving! No loitering! Yikes!

What is the purpose of a public park when the public is forbidden to sit? Every park bench has been banished. The covered picnic area was demolished. The swings have a fence around them with a sign saying "No adults allowed: Do not enter unless bringing children!" Now the last picnic table is history.

This activity is the official solution to rid the park of homeless citizens. If there are no tables or benches to while away the hours it is easier to keep them out of the park. People don't like seeing them napping.

Without permitted places to be NOBODY, homeless or not, is around anymore. Even the sprinklers are timed to discourage lounging on the grass. Need a shower? 10 Pm, 5 Am, bring your own soap and towel. Oh, NO reading! Possession of a backpack in the park is felonious, you get 86'd in less than a minute.

Black clothes head to toe- motorcycle leather zipped looking sinister I walk; Scrap pauses, lifts his leg on a palm tree- right in front of the cop car! No turning their heads whatsoever, peeing in the park is OK,
for a dog.

Sitting in the park for an hour or two? Who do you think you are? What are you doing? No place else to go? Free Parking? NOT! You're busted- Go directly to the Blue Roof (Marin's Jail, architect: Frank Lloyd Wright), Do not pass Go,
do not collect $200.

I always thought a public park's purpose on the planet is providing people places to pass time outside. I pray for picnic tables and park benches to reappear: Park Place Peace Please.