Vision Surreal Title graphic
spacer
All about me - my profile link
older entries
Link here to the rest of my site if this was fun for you!
send me an email
My YouTube
My MySpace Profile
get your own diary- It's fun and free...
Checkout other diaries here!
beautiful pink lava erupting in this dreamstate horizon
2007-05-18 19:34

I spent some time outside in the daylight today. I figured it is coming up on my 1 year "anniversary" off prednisone, which is the boundary Dr. Big Wig suggested I wait before messing around in my garden. Even though my immune system is still off kilter, it IS better than it was 3 months ago.

My big ficus tree is spending the summer outdoors this year; I call it "plant camp". The tree needs pruning. For the first time in nearly 2 years I put my gardening gloves on, got my felcos out of the drawer, slathered myself with sunscreen and donned long sleeves. Out to the patio-

Snip clip snip snip- I filled a black barrel with ficus branches. The tree will be a more beautiful shape by fall when it comes back "home" to the living room from "camp". I even pulled some weeds out of real dirt by my epiphylliums and cactus! That's risky- Puncture wounds from thorny things growing outside are a no-no. It takes too long for them to heal- and they hurt a lot, too.

I was snipping back hydrangea branches shading my tuberous begonias when the phone rang. After I hung it up I realized I had been "out there" for nearly an hour. WOW. That's a good start. I'll leave it at that for today. I put the clippers & gloves back in the drawer, washed my hands, and plan on another hour in the garden tomorrow! What a happy thought...