Vision Surreal Title graphic
spacer
All about me - my profile link
older entries
Link here to the rest of my site if this was fun for you!
send me an email
My YouTube
My MySpace Profile
get your own diary- It's fun and free...
Checkout other diaries here!
beautiful pink lava erupting in this dreamstate horizon
2007-10-23 10:17 p.m.

I was adding a new entry to the FlashBack section of the web site, AthensRewind.com, I built to promote the fabulous "classless reunion" party celebrating Athens GA's great music scene. The party happened in 2005; the site gets much traffic anyway. YAY!

I stumbled across one of my good ole days stories, and thought, for the heck of it, to post it here tonight:

∞ Easter Punch ∞

Making that bathtub full of punch for the Easter Party was funny. I snagged 2 full gallons of pure reagent ethanol (200 proof), put it in a 5 gallon bucket and filled the bucket up with sliced fruit, strawberries, and grapes 3 days before Easter. I took the shelves out of the fridge and put the bucket in. I stirred the fruit a couple times a day-

Finally it was easter morning. The fruit was a bit faded in color, but it made up for any cosmetic loss with the wallop it had when you ate it. The grapes were especially potent and mind altering!

Well, since the fridge was full of boozed up fruit, there was no room to buy and store a clawfoot bathtub's volume in juice. I planned to pick it up at Bell's the morning of the party, which started at 2PM.
Slight glitch in my thinking.

EASTER SUNDAY=no open grocery stores! OOPS.

Maureen was the hero here! We drove to every convieneince store in town. I bought every bit of that strange sugary colored stuff with fake flavor there was- because that was all there was, and frozen lemonade concentrate- pink and yellow flavor. I had to have enough fluid to dilute the 2 gallons of pure ethanol or my party guests would have tumbled off the porch at 169 Barber before dark.

I needed 35 gallons minimum. The 7-11's were shutting down for the holiday. We barely found enough!

Now home with the fluids, I mixed up the punch, threw a set of floating beach toys in it, hung my 3d jesus over it on the porch...

Fast forward- it is now dawn- the sun is coming up. The hard core of the group are clustered around the nearly empty tub. Mark Segura had his cheshire cat grin on and sunglasses, leaning back against the house. Mike Mills and Pete Buck were trying to scoop up the end of the punch & still searching for the elusive grapes. Someone got the idea to tip the tub up on one side to make the scooping more effective.

But first, to pay respect for the fabulous time had that past 18 hours celebrating easter- they washed my feet in the tub's remaining punch, tipped the tub, scooped it out and drank it. The Coach sort of slipped down to his butt against the house laughing.

It was a perfectly absurd surreal ending for a positively spectacular party. I still have that 3d Jesus too!