Vision Surreal Title graphic
spacer
All about me - my profile link
older entries
Link here to the rest of my site if this was fun for you!
send me an email
My YouTube
My MySpace Profile
get your own diary- It's fun and free...
Checkout other diaries here!
beautiful pink lava erupting in this dreamstate horizon
2007-09-22 6:04 p.m.

Yesterday Regynn and I were talking and listening to music. After I played the Fairfield Four crooning harmonious divine acapella gospel (which includes the lowest bass voice I've ever heard before), our conversation came around to Funk.

Particularly
Parliament. Funkadelic. P-Funk.
Specifically
glorious George
~Psychedelic Visionary of Soul~
Clinton!

I was moved to play Funkadelic's "Maggot Brain," a cut off the album of the same name released 1971.



Regynn never heard it before. It features an electric guitar solo that is sooo emotionally deep and rich it brought us both to tears.

According to legend, George Clinton, under the influence of LSD, told Eddie Hazel to play the first half of the song like his mother had just died and to play the second half as if he had found out she was alive. The result is a 10-minute guitar solo celebrated by music critics and fans. Though several other musicians began the track playing, Clinton soon realized the POWER of Hazel's solo and faded them out so that the focus would be on Hazel's guitar. The entire track was recorded in one take.

Whew! Magical! Such pleasure! Definite Ear Candy Deluxe!

I listened to "Maggot Brain" again this afternoon. Just for kicks I did a little research- I wanted to dwell on George Clinton a while. He is brilliant and I admire his work endlessly.

For as long as I've loved George I never thought about his personal details- where he was born, spouses, etc. Reading today a stellar truth presented itself. A profound enlightenment! Today I learned George Clinton and I have the same birthday!

Wow
The Mothership HAS landed!