Vision Surreal Title graphic
spacer
All about me - my profile link
older entries
Link here to the rest of my site if this was fun for you!
send me an email
My YouTube
My MySpace Profile
get your own diary- It's fun and free...
Checkout other diaries here!
beautiful pink lava erupting in this dreamstate horizon
2007-12-02 6:07 p.m.

Rest In Peace, Evel Knievel!
Vrooom, Vroooom Vrooom!

In One Piece...

Evel Knievel, brilliant visionary, outlaw, with PT Barnum-esque showmanship and razor-sharp business sense. Evel, 69, died November 30th, 2007 in Clearwater, Fla. I honor and celebrate his brash rebellious creative nature. He'd inspire passionate intense feelings, from Awestruck to Angry. Legendary!

Evel Knievel Information:
wikipedia's Evel Knievel
NYTimes- Viva Knievel, the Final Chapter
NYTimes- Evel Knievel, 69, Daredevil Dies
The "DAREDEVIL LEGEND SPEAKS" audio here is splendid:
USA Today- Knievel, still cheating death

Evel's hometown is Butte, Montana- he was a standout athlete in track and field, ski-jumping and ice hockey. Joining the Army in the 1950s, he volunteered to be a paratrooper and made 30 jumps. Afterward he played semiprofessional and professional hockey, for a time with the Charlotte Clippers of the Eastern Hockey League. Then he took up motorcycle racing full-time until falling and breaking bones in a race in 1962.

When he was 27, he became co-owner of a motorcycle shop in Moses Lake, Wash. To attract customers, he announced he would jump his motorcycle 40 feet over parked cars and a box of rattlesnakes and continue on past a mountain lion tethered at the other end. Before 1,000 people, he did the stunt as promised but failed to fly far enough; his bike came down on the rattlesnakes. The audience was in awe.

"Right then", he said, "I knew I could draw a big crowd by jumping over weird stuff."

Evel Knievel once described himself as the last gladiator in the new Rome. Another time he said he was a conservative wildman.

"Next year the Ideal Toy Company is going to make a lot of Evel Knievel toys. ... One toy I'd like them to make is my own idea; I think it's the most super toy in the world. You wind it up, it goes like a little bugger, goes across the floor, grabs this little Barbie doll, throws her on the floor, gives her a little lovin', jumps back on the motorcycle and goes whizzing out the door screaming, 'G.I. Joe is a faggot!"

"I am a guy who is first of all a businessman," he said. "I'm not a stunt man. I'm not a daredevil. I'm...
I'm an explorer."