Vision Surreal Title graphic
spacer
All about me - my profile link
older entries
Link here to the rest of my site if this was fun for you!
send me an email
My YouTube
My MySpace Profile
get your own diary- It's fun and free...
Checkout other diaries here!
beautiful pink lava erupting in this dreamstate horizon
2012-03-24 3:18 a.m.
How I bury a dearly departed cat...
I wrote this note in response to my vet this morning after I buried my 19 year old cat, Miss Juliette...

Dear Bill,

Hearing from you this morning really meant a lot to me. Thank You so much for being there. I shared with you because I knew you cared.

I just couldn't leave Juliette by herself after she died. I'd closed her eyes, arranged her as she naturally slept, in the well loved basket I bought her during our first year.

Prior to sunset a vivid rainbow appeared on the rug, right next to Juliette's basket! Wow! A magical surprise :)

I arranged a few keepsakes, decorative items and lit candles. I kept Juliette near me on the floor so Scrappy & Iggi could see her too.

I petted Miss Juliette, sometimes held the basket on my lap to talk, cried, hugged Bob, & just looked at her with infinite love. I told her how much I miss her, lit more candles, cried some more and eventually said good bye.

Scrappy and I fell asleep next to Juliette for a couple hours.

When I awoke I knew what to do. It was time to go outside in the garden to dig a 3' deep hole. Something about sobbing with a shovel in hand is soothing. Bob stood by handing me clippers whenever I hit a tree root which needed clipping.

Miss Juliette was wrapped in her favorite blanket & bedding. Together Bob and I slipped her gently into a fresh burlap sack. I placed the tidy bundle with love in the hole, then sadly filled it back up.

A nearby stack of abalone shells revealed themselves to my muse- suggesting they be arranged around the grave - a lovely final touch! Thank You!

Once finished I wandered inside. I took a shower, went to bed, turned the cell to silent, and slept like a rock till 4 o'clock. I was really very tired.

Things felt so resolved when I woke up. A couple friends stopped by. Waves of sadness washed through - but overall I felt a profound sense of relief.

I love Juliette, but it was time for us to part. I am grateful for this closure. Seeing her decline was pure torture- now it is over.

Love,
Leslie (& Juliette)