Vision Surreal Title graphic
spacer
All about me - my profile link
older entries
Link here to the rest of my site if this was fun for you!
send me an email
My YouTube
My MySpace Profile
get your own diary- It's fun and free...
Checkout other diaries here!
beautiful pink lava erupting in this dreamstate horizon
2006-10-30 17:48

A year ago today I had a headache. I had the headache for a couple days prior, and thought it was the flu. I spent a lot of time sleeping, drinking fluids, taking aspirin or ibuprophen. But something was different about this headache.

Bob and I had plans that Sunday to attend this huge concert in Golden Gate Park. We had stage passes, etc. On Saturday night I told Bob if this headache was still going on Sunday morning I wanted to go the hospital emergency room. I figured they'd give me some meds, and if they worked & I felt better we could still go to the show.

This headache was weird. Yeah, it hurt. It felt different than any other headache. The best way I can describe it is DISTRACTING. It absorbed my thoughts to where I couldn't pay attention to anything else. It was a feeling that distracted me more than "hurt" me.

So Sunday morning I said, "Let's go to the hospital".

Having to go outside in daylight to the car was torture. I laid down in the back seat and covered my head- and moaned. They hustled me through triage in the busy emergency room.

Next I remember a Dr. running me through the reflex stuff, the neurological stuff, and all that poking and prodding. My Blood Pressure was some astronomical reading after a couple tries. By now my mom and Dick are with me too. Bob called them.

The Dr. said, "We are admitting you to ICU."

"Huh?" Well there goes the concert at the park plan.

This day, a year ago, was the beginning of a week spent in ICU. I nearly died that night. I had been given a "beta blocker" for the Blood Pressure, and my body can not tolerate that stuff. At one point a crash cart and crew of 5 medical people flew to my bed. I do not remember much of it other than them telling me my heartbeat got really slow and weak. Flat lining.

Ultimately the Dr.s I had where smart enough to see the anomalies in my case. My innards and organs were healthy, they determined this was not a stroke or a heart issue pretty quick. But what is going on then?

For the next 2 days I was put under every machine and through every procedure imaginable.

There are entries I made in November last year with all the medical info from these Dr.'s documents for those of you that like that stuff. look under the "older entries" for them. You can tell by the titles...

More anniversary stuff will be revealed. BOO!