Vision Surreal Title graphic
spacer
All about me - my profile link
older entries
Link here to the rest of my site if this was fun for you!
send me an email
My YouTube
My MySpace Profile
get your own diary- It's fun and free...
Checkout other diaries here!
beautiful pink lava erupting in this dreamstate horizon
2006-03-01 10:30 p.m.

Hey All-
Why am I celebrating? I had a significant bit of great news from the medical world today that indicates I am on the right track with recovery from the dramatic near death trip (aka CNS vasculitis) that held me in ICU for 7 days.

My sed rate is 16, down from 44! Yippee!

Here's a little info about this test result and what it means to me...
The erythrocyte sedimentation rate (ESR), or sedimentation rate (sed rate), is a measure of the settling of red blood cells in a tube of blood during one hour. The rate is an indication of inflammation and increases in many diseases.

ESR is increased in rheumatoid diseases, most infections, and in cancer. An advanced rate doesn't diagnose a specific disease, but it does indicate that an underlying disease may be present. A physician can use ESR to monitor a person with an associated disease. When the disease worsens, the ESR increases; when the disease improves, the ESR decreases.

The ESR test is a simple test dating back to the ancient Greeks. A specific amount of diluted, unclotted blood is placed in a special narrow tube and left undisturbed for exactly one hour. The red cells settle towards the bottom of the tube, and the pale yellow liquid (plasma) rises to the top. After 60 minutes, measurements are taken of the distance the red cells traveled to settle at the bottom of the tube.

Normally red cells don't settle far toward the bottom of the tube. Many diseases make extra or abnormal proteins that cause the red cells to move close together, stack up, and form a column (rouleaux). In a group, red cells are heavier and fall faster. The faster they fall, the further they settle, and the higher the ESR. Normal values are: Men 0 mm/hour-15 mm/hour; women 0 mm/hour-20 mm/hour; and children 0 mm/hour-10 mm/hour.

Here's a link to the WebMD site if you want more in depth info about what this test is all about.

I am thrilled though not out of the woods yet. The medical wizards treating me are still busy with their search for WHY this happened in the first place.

The inflammation of my brain's arteries has settled down and therefore I get to reduce my dosage of Prednisone. That stuff saved my life; but it has bothersome side effects, and I am more than ready for the Dr.'s to lower the dosage.
Today that happened- YAY! Spread the word...