Vision Surreal Title graphic
spacer
All about me - my profile link
older entries
Link here to the rest of my site if this was fun for you!
send me an email
My YouTube
My MySpace Profile
get your own diary- It's fun and free...
Checkout other diaries here!
beautiful pink lava erupting in this dreamstate horizon
2005-01-22 10:10 p.m.

I got this email this week, and it is the start of something cool! __________________________________________ __________________________________________ Hey! I'm trying to reach Leslie Michel who lived in Athens, Georgia in the late 70's/early 80's. If this is the right Leslie, would you please let me know? I was a friend of Jimmy Ellison, Lynda Stipe, Ingrid Schorr, etc. I am in the middle of planning a big reunion of Athens people from back in the day, along with Paul Scales of the 40 Watt, Kathleen O'Brien, Michael Lachowski, and a few other folks. We're trying to find you! Thanks, Julie House Athens 1980-1985 __________________________________________ __________________________________________ So I write: YES! this is the right Leslie! Tell me more! I'll be there! Me here last Valentines day... Here in 2000 with my adorable little dog Scrappy. I have a web site for my art too. LJMichel.com And I made one for my hubby's band Riffles.info COOL! How did ya' find me??? Leslie __________________________________________ __________________________________________ Leslie, Holy shit!! I think I may win the prize for finding you!! It was actually easy...seems like I looked on the UGA alumni site as a last resort, then did a google search for your name and San Rafael California...? I don't actually even remember. It's amazing and a little scary that you can locate almost anyone if you try! Here's the not very detailed details so far: May or June, 2005. Gathering of hipsters. Loosely celebrating (among other things) the 25th anniversary of the first show of the 40 Watt Club, E., (you know, the one above Yudi's). Anyone and everyone who mattered. We're working with two or three possible scenarios, depending on whether we can get Love Tractor and/or Pylon to play. First idea: a big show at the 40 Watt which the public would attend, too, as ticket-buying members. This would probably go from about 10pm to 1 am or so. Afterwards, the Chosen Few would move either to the Little Kings place (small club down the street) for a d.j. party or maybe even the old old Watt on Clayton. Second idea: If no bands from the era can play, just skip the big 40 Watt show and have a private party with Michael Lachowski deejaying. This would be equally fun, and actually easier to plan. A third possibility is to have an "open mic" kind of thing at the Little Kings or the old Watt, and have jam sessions with whatever musicians were present and felt like playing. We are having a big planning committee (=drinking party) tomorrow night at Kathleen O'Brien's house here in lovely Decatur GA. I'll have more news to send after that. We're trying to firm up dates and details, like if we're having Pylon/Love Tractor/Method Actors or anyone else play, or if it will just be a giant partay. Either way will be fun. The people who will be at the meeting/party are me, KO, Paul Scales, Maureen McLaughlin, Paul Butchart, Kenny Rogers, and maybe Michael Lachowski. Any messages for anyone? Any thoughts on what you'd like to see happen as part of this reunion? I'm SO GLAD you wrote back. I love the photos of you...you look exactly the same. The artwork site is great too. I especially like the one with the gate and the moss-covered steps. Also (questions questions) which one is your husband on the riffles website? I don't know if you remember me or not. I'm attaching a photo taken in Athens last month at a party at M. Lachowski's house. I'm on the left, then Michael, Paul Scales and Bryan Lilje. Send me feedback!! All best, Julie __________________________________________ __________________________________________ Julia, Happy Friday! Pass this link around. I edited into a web page a letter I sent out ages ago when looking to contact Athenians. It has a few pictures 'n stuff, and a scan of my 169 Barber Street guest book- from the famous Easter Party and the Pink Party... OF ATHENS Do you have a computer at home that does video chat??? Does Kathleen?? I do. When it gets to the party part of the brainstorming thingy we could connect! Live from my living room! How 21st century is that! I have an internet camera in my kitchen. you can check in on our lives whenever, to get the latest new image hit the refresh/reload button in your browser. See my pets, see our friends, see Bob mixing cocktails, see our fridge! Such Silly Fun. Regards, Leslie __________________________________________ __________________________________________ Hey, girl, Hmmm...good idea about the video chat but alas, none of us have the capacity to do it. We could be all 20th century and call you, though :-) What are your plans for tomorrow around 5:30 EST? I'm forwarding your email to KO too, to see if she has other ideas on how to include you in our meeting. The Easter Party guest book pages are MOST amazing. I can't believe you still have them! I remember that party...I was invited and didn't go and always regretted it. Of the genuine signatures, I don't suppose you could translate some of the harder to read names and send them to us, could you? I see some people (Joe Thomas, Francis Lloyd) who need to be added to our guest list. Others I can't read but am curious about, like who is that at 748 Cobb? I lived there in 81-82... I've seen Tom Smith's page, too, with the Koffee Klub pictures. Any idea where he is now? We've got so much catching up to do. The other kids and I have a guest list of 150 people so far, and we just keep adding to it. I've recently cyber-talked to Ingrid Schorr, Eric Eaton, Vanessa Briscoe, Linda Skates, Jessica Fisher, and I've spoken in the flesh to Curtis Crowe, Vic Varney, Kurt Wood, Chris Edwards, Heli Montgomery, and Lynda Stipe. And many others. Everyone is really excited about this reunion so I think it will 1) really happen, and 2) really be a blast. We're looking at a date in early June. Can you make it then? My daughter (seven years old) was looking over my shoulder while I perused your website earlier. She LOVES the pet page. Juliette is her favorite, though Scrappy is a close second. Great story about the squirrels and Iggi...does he play with the surviving squirrel? We'll be in touch tomorrow, someway somehow, I feel sure. Best, Julie __________________________________________ __________________________________________ Julie, I had completely forgotten the Effectette thing! Thanks for reminding me. I am actually really easy to locate webwise. I have images posted at several websites, my name is in my website's meta data as a key word for the search engines to find, and I own 4 domains under my name. I am listed in the phonebook, too. Michael Lachowsky has my email address. When I was on my Athens nostalgia rip I stumbled into the athensmusic web site, and made the acquaintance of Jeff Montgomery, and was able to get in touch with several old athens friends thanks to him. I had a big idea in the shower just now. I would forget about the really big show, and therefore make the party easier, more relaxed, less expensive, and cooler. More like a PARTY! Have the chosen sacred venue set up a good PA and mics, provide a reliable quick working sound person/s and someone to manage the stage, rent a set of drums, and encourage the musicians who want to play to bring along their instruments to do that! Guitars and such are easy to lug around- drums are not. That way people would get to do what they did back in the olden days. Jam together. Experiment! Mess Around! Play! A dance contest would be great. A booth set up for photos. Have a DJ, too. Maybe a separate room. And a chill out area lit by an actual 40w bulb. People will appreciate being able to talk to each other. If there was one more thing to add to the ambiance, I would invite the hippest, sweetest, youngest (underage would be best) most creative + quirky band in town to do one short set in the beginning. I am not sure when your meeting happens. Is 5:30 EST or PST?? I am 3 hours behind Athens time here. No worries about trying to include me physically, I am there whatever time it happens in spirit. I am off to bed now. (I am an owl) Hug Maureen for me. And Vanessa. And... And... Nighty Night! PS. Invite Jerry Ayers, Mark Segura, and Ort Carlton too. __________________________________________ __________________________________________ "I had completely forgotten the Effectette thing! Thanks for reminding me." The main reason I remember is that there is a video that Greg Nicoll did of the Side Effects from Tyrone's in about 1980. Paul Butchart showed it to us when we were at his house a few weeks ago. There's a scene where Kit and Paul are being interviewed outside the club and they pull you over and talk to you about being an Effectette. In fact you can actually access the video on this site: Side Effects Movie "I had a big idea in the shower just now. I would forget about the really big show, and therefore make the party easier, more relaxed, less expensive, and cooler. More like a PARTY! Have the chosen sacred venue set up a good PA and mics, provide a reliable quick working sound person/s and someone to manage the stage, rent a set of drums, and encourage the musicians who want to play to bring along their instruments to do that! Guitars and such are easy to lug around- drums are not. That way people would get to do what they did back in the olden days. Jam together. Experiment! Mess Around! Play! A dance contest would be great. A booth set up for photos. Have a DJ, too. Maybe a separate room. And a chill out area lit by an actual 40w bulb. People will appreciate being able to talk to each other." Beautiful. That's the direction this seems to be taking, since we are having a hard time getting any band to commit to playing. I like the idea of a dance contest. And I'd thought of the jam session type thing, but wondered about the instruments. We could make it clear that everyone who plays something needs to show up with it in hand. I'll bring your email with me this afternoon to the party meeting. "If there was one more thing to add to the ambiance, I would invite the hippest, sweetest, youngest (underage would be best) most creative + quirky band in town to do one short set in the beginning." Easier said than done. They're all so damn serious there these days. I'll see what Lachowski knows, though. "I am not sure when your meeting happens. Is 5:30 EST or PST?? I am 3 hours behind Athens time here. No worries about trying to include me physically, I am there whatever time it happens in spirit." We're gonna call you, KO already said. What's the best phone number/time to reach you? We start our meeting at 4:30 eastern time, will begin the party aspect around 5:30 and can really call you anytime. "PS. Invite Jerry Ayers, Mark Segura, and Ort Carlton too." Sad news, Leslie. Mark Segura died last summer. I'm sorry to have to break bad news, especially when I don't have any details. Paul Scales knows...I'll get him to send you what he has. Regarding Jerry, I saw him at Lachowski's xmas party. He's doing well. Ort is still Ort. Later, Julie __________________________________________ __________________________________________ Julie This is especially for Kathleen- if she ever wants to have another church birthday party! Inflatable Church Here's the Inflatable Pub if all else fails I'd love to have one for a camping trip! __________________________________________ __________________________________________ Leslie I think we may have found the location for our party!